Andrew James Clark is a Canadian composer, curator and music teacher. He is the founder of Classical Context, the President of the Canadian Composers Orchestra, and the Music Director of Heron Park Baptist Church. 


His professional development includes a Composition Fellowship with the Hamilton Philharmonic, a Conducting Apprenticeship with Orchestra Toronto, and participation in the Scarborough Philharmonic Orchestra’s New Generation Composition Program. He has a published work with Counterpoint Library, and his music has been included in the ACNMP’s Contemporary Showcase Syllabus. Recent awards include his Symphonic Dance ranking second place in the Etobicoke Philharmonic's 2022 Young Composer Competition, and his Prelude From the Rhythmic Suite being a finalist in the 2020 New York New Contemporary Music Symposium.


Community building has consistently remained at the forefront of Andrew’s musical activities. His concert series Classical Context has been featured on's “Critic’s Picks”, and has showcased a substantial amount of early-career professionals from throughout Canada. His efforts in sustaining a music therapy program for elderly and homeless musicians earned him a Gordon Cressy Student Leadership Award in 2016, and in 2021 he and helped launch the Digital Generations Program seeking to aide emerging composers in the creation of digital composition portfolios.


Andrew is currently composing a String Trio, a Piano Suite and a Symphonetta. 



Heliacal Rising (2020) - For String Orchestra - The Hamilton PhilharmonicAndrew James Clark
00:00 / 06:21
Prelude: The Rythmic Suite For Piano (2019)Andrew James Clark
00:00 / 02:42
Prelude: The Rythmic Suite - Marimba Arrangmentarr. Michael Murphy
00:00 / 03:12
String Quartet No.1 [2018 Version] - Classical Context Concert SeriesAndrew James Clark
00:00 / 26:54
Vulture (2019) Andrew James Clark
00:00 / 06:59
Groove (2018) - For Concert Band - The U of T Concert BandAndrew James Clark
00:00 / 08:12
Dance of the Neolithics (2017) - For Bari Sax, Trombone and TubaAndrew James Clark
00:00 / 09:28
Phantasmagoria (2016) - For Brass, Percussion and Bass BaritoneAndrew James Clark
00:00 / 07:48
Piano Trio No.1 (2016) - Classical Context Concert SeriesKatherine Peter, Alice Kim, Andrew James Clark
00:00 / 20:45
The Valley of the Dry Bones (2016)Andrew James Clark
00:00 / 02:48
Nonet For Strings (2015) - Classical Context SeriesAndrew James Clark
00:00 / 11:37
Three Meditations: Lord of My Life (I) (2015)Andrew James Clark
00:00 / 03:30
Three Meditations: Lord of My Life (II) (2015)Andrew James Clark
00:00 / 02:49
Three Meditations: Lord of My Life (III) (2015)Andrew James Clark
00:00 / 02:54
Living Colour (2014) - For Organ and AccordionRashaan Alwood, Matti Pulkki
00:00 / 12:27
The Red Quintet (2014) - For Wind QuintetAndrew James Clark
00:00 / 09:55
Crying in the Mud (2014) - For Piano and ViolinAndrew James Clark
00:00 / 03:29

©2022 Andrew James Clark - All Rights Reserved